We are excited to announce the fourth edition of the Free Press Awards. We aim to celebrate the work of the best journalists and media professionals. Free Press Unlimited wants people to have access to reliable information they need to develop and prosper. We support journalists worldwide to make stories be told. Nowadays that is not always an easy task. With these awards we want to honour those media professionals who continue no matter what.

The Free Press Awards will be conferred at Free Press Live on 2 November 2018 and will recognise exceptional work in the categories Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist. Read more about the criteria for the Newcomer of the Year and Most Resilient Journalist.

Free Press Unlimited supports journalists worldwide on a daily basis. We will also be grasping the Free Press Live event as an opportunity to draw attention to the risk journalists take. We believe that journalists should report the news and not be the news. During this event we share stories of journalists who continue no matter what.

In addition we hope to encourage journalists who have new ideas to ensure stories will always be told. We want to honour journalists who risk everything to bring us the news, media pioneers who pave the way for equality and justice and those who persevere under the most difficult circumstances.

These awards will recognise those journalists who have a strong commitment with press freedom and independent information. Nominations for the awards will be judged by an independent panel of international experts. The winner in the category ‘Newcomer of the Year’ will receive a media scholarship by choice. The winner in the category ‘Most Resilient Journalist’ will receive a cash prize of €15,000. Winners in both categories receive an expenses-paid visit to the awards ceremony on 2 November in The Hague, where the prices will be conferred in person.

There are no geographical limitations on eligibility for the prize – entries from any country or region will be considered.

Criteria Newcomer of the Year   Criteria Most Resilient Journalist